The best targeting in the world

Developments such as iOS 14 and the post-cookie era are keeping the advertising world busy while Profital remains a highly efficient crowd puller.


                Woman with smartphone with Profital app open

Challenges for advertisers

In spring 2021, Apple implemented enhanced privacy features with the iOS 14.5 operating system. The aim is to better protect the privacy of users. As soon as apps are opened for the first time, consumers are asked to approve tracking. Because more than 80% of iPhone users deny this request, the data base for advertisers decreases and with it the marketing effectiveness.

It is also becoming increasingly difficult on the web. When visiting websites in Switzerland, you will be informed that cookies and similar technologies are being used. The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) in Germany, for example, goes much further and requires the active consent of website visitors. But that's not all, from 2023, Google also wants to completely dispense with cookies in its own Chrome browser (worldwide market share: 67% of web browsers). Although approaches and plans for the post-cookie era exist, this change primarily means less measurability and higher costs.

A smaller data base has a direct impact on advertising campaigns. The return on advertising spend (ROAS) decreases with limited targeting options because companies no longer reach their target group in such a focused and personalised way. The generally more effective retargeting campaigns also reach a smaller user base due to a lack of tracking permission. 

Profital’s success factor: Pull marketing 

The changes in the advertising world have no impact on Profital’s drive-to-store campaigns. Profital users do not regard the brochures shown as advertising, but as valuable content. This is reflected in both contact quantity (CTRs of up to 15%) and contact quality (reading rates of the advertising material of over 50% and average dwell time of 79 seconds per brochure). Thanks to the click-based billing model, having a presence on Profital is completely free of charge for advertisers. Costs are only incurred when consumers proactively take an interest in a brochure and click on it while planning their purchases. This means that it is not socio-demographic, contextual or other characteristics that determine who views the advertising, but the users themselves. 

On Profital, retailers and brand manufacturers reach a shopping-savvy target group entirely without coverage waste - thanks to the best targeting in the world.

Learn more?

Contact me for more info or a no-obligation consultation.

Juan-Pablo Schmid

Head of Sales

Further Articles

Always stay up to date

Sign up for our newsletter.

Das beste Targeting der Welt

Entwicklungen wie iOS 14 und die Post-Cookie Ära beschäftigen die Werbewelt, Profital bleibt ein hoch-effizienter Frequenzbringer.


                Frau mit Smartphone mit geöffneter Profital-App

Herausforderungen für Werbetreibende

Apple hat im Frühling 2021 mit dem Betriebssystem iOS 14.5 erweiterte Datenschutzfunktionen implementiert. Das Ziel ist, die Privatsphäre der Nutzer:innen besser zu schützen. Bereits beim ersten Öffnen von Apps werden die Konsument:innen nach der Freigabe des Trackings gefragt. Weil über 80% der iPhone-User:innen diese Anfrage verneint, sinkt die Datengrundlage für Werbetreibende und damit die Marketingeffektivität.

Auch im Web wird es zunehmend schwieriger. In der Schweiz wird beim Webseiten-Besuch darauf hingewiesen, dass Cookies und ähnliche Technologien eingesetzt werden. Die Datenschutzgrundverordnung (DSGVO), wie sie beispielsweise in Deutschland gilt, geht deutlich weiter und verlangt eine aktive Einwilligung der Webseitenbesucher:innen. Doch damit nicht genug, auch Google will ab 2023 im hauseigenen Chrome-Browser (weltweiter Marktanteil: 67% der Webbrowser) komplett auf Cookies verzichten. Obwohl Ansätze und Vorhaben für die Post-Cookie-Ära bestehen, bedeutet diese Veränderung in erster Linie weniger Messbarkeit und höhere Kosten.

Eine kleinere Datengrundlage wirkt sich direkt auf Werbekampagnen aus. Der Return on Advertising Spend (ROAS) sinkt mit eingeschränkten Targeting-Möglichkeiten, weil Unternehmen nicht mehr so gezielt und personalisiert an ihre Zielgruppe gelangen. Die meist effektiveren Retargeting-Kampagnen erreichen mangels Tracking-Erlaubnis ebenfalls eine geringere Nutzerschaft. 

Profitals Erfolgs-Faktor: Pull-Marketing 

Auf die Drive-to-Store-Kampagnen bei Profital haben die Veränderungen in der Werbewelt keinen Einfluss. Profital-Nutzer:innen nehmen die gezeigten Prospekte nicht als Werbung wahr, sondern als wertvollen Content. Dies zeigt sich sowohl in der Kontakt-Quantität (CTRs von bis zu 15%) als auch in der Kontakt-Qualität (Lesequoten des Werbemittels von über 50% und durchschnittliche Verweildauer von 79 Sekunden pro Prospekt). Dank des klickbasierten Abrechnungsmodells ist die Präsenz auf Profital für Werbetreibende komplett kostenlos. Erst wenn Konsument:innen, sich während ihrer Einkaufsplanung proaktiv für ein Prospekt interessieren und diesen anklicken, entstehen Kosten. Somit bestimmen nicht soziodemographische, kontextbezogene oder andere Merkmale, wer sich die Werbung ansieht, sondern die Nutzer:innen selbst. 

Auf Profital erreichen Händler und Markenhersteller eine shoppingaffine Zielgruppe ganz ohne Streuverlust – dank dem besten Targeting der Welt.

Noch Fragen?

Kontaktieren Sie mich für mehr Infos oder ein unverbindliches Beratungsgespräch.

Juan-Pablo Schmid

Head of Sales

Weitere Beiträge

Immer auf dem neusten Stand bleiben

Jetzt für den Profital Newsletter anmelden.